Skip to main content

Brent Michael Davids scores

Identifier: CoU-AMRC-28

Scope and Contents

Photocopied scores of Brent Michael Davids, composer.


  • Creation: ca. 1985-2000


The collection is open for research purposes only.

Usage Restrictions

Copyright is not held by the American Music Research Center. Requests to publish materials should be directed to the copyright holder.

Biography of Brent Michael Davids

Composer Brent Michael Davids holds composition degrees from the University of Northern Illinois and Arizona State University. His works have been performed by the Kronos Quartet, the Joffrey Ballet, and the New Mexico Symphony Orchestra. He has received awards from the NEA, Meet the Composer, ASCAP, the Rockefeller foundation, and the Sundance Institute.

Davids’ music combines the sounds of his native Mohican musical language with the sounds of his formal music education. He uses such things as dancers in traditional costumes on stage with a symphony orchestra to which he has added native instruments. He feels that it is important for Native Americans to respond to his works; he tries to create an “American Sound” that, unlike the works of Copland, Thomson, and Bernstein, contains an indigenous, Native American influence.


2 linear feet (1 box)

Language of Materials



Arranged alphabetically

Physical Location

Housed in the American Music Research Center

Custodial history

Donated by Brent Michael Davids

The Brent Michael Davids scores
An inventory of holdings at the American Music Research Center
Conversion Draft
Cassandra M. Volpe
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note
Finding aid written inEnglish.

Repository Details

Part of the University of Colorado Boulder Libraries, Rare and Distinctive Collections Repository

1720 Pleasant Street
184 UCB
Boulder Colorado 80503 United States